Through the Keyhole: Agatha Christie Edition – The Answers

A couple of weeks ago I set a picture quiz on my blog, in which blog readers had the fiendish task of deciding which Agatha Christie titles were hiding behind the eponymous keyholes. If you have not had the chance yet to give the quiz a go then…

A gif of a cat putting their paw up next to a sign saying stop.

Here is a link to the original post.

If however you have lost countless nights sleep trying to figure out which Agatha Christie titles were used in the quiz, then keep reading…

Keyhole Number 1

Answer: Sparkling Cyanide

The image comes from the UK first edition cover.

Keyhole Number 2

Answer: The Big Four

The image comes from William Morrow & Co Reissue edition in 2011.

Keyhole Number 3

Answer: A Caribbean Mystery

The image comes from the Fontana paperback edition.

Keyhole Number 4

Answer: N or M?

This image comes from the Dell edition of the book and like some of you I too am puzzled as to why there is an onion on the cover!

Keyhole Number 5

Answer: And Then There Were None

This was probably the trickiest title to figure out as the cover used was not one that has been used on a published edition of the book. This cover is designed by Don Welch. What drew me to the image was that it focused on an object which kicks off the nightmarish experiences for the characters. It is not an object which has received much attention on other covers, but it is a crucial part of the book’s plot.

Keyhole Number 6

Answer: Death on the Nile

This cover is from the dustjacket of the UK first edition.

Keyhole Number 7

Answer: Third Girl

This Pan cover was chosen for its bizarre choice of images.

Keyhole Number 8

Answer: Sad Cypress

This is a Dell Mapback edition.

Keyhole Number 9

Answer: Hercule Poirot’s Christmas

This is a Fontana edition.

Keyhole Number 10

Answer: The Murder on the Links

This is another Dell edition, although not a mapback one.

So how many did you get right? Which cover is your favourite? Are there any which would put you off buying them?

18 comments

  1. Don’t shoot me for crimes against bookcovers, but I have had to cover some of my paperbacks with wrapping paper, because I find the covers too gory!!! I’m afraid I only got a couple of these and guessed ‘probables’ for a couple more – although, to be fair, I don’t think anyone could get 7 unless they actually had a copy of that cover!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm, the onion on the cover of N or M has started a brain niggle – I think there WAS something to do with onions in the plot, but I no longer have a copy of the book. If anyone has read it recently, could you put me out of my misery? I’m racking my brains to remember why the onion was included!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Only got nr 10, which was the easiest to guess. Nr 6 did look vaguely Egyptian, but I had a false memory that I had seen a similar cover for Murder in Mesompotamia, and I thought it could be some other ancient ruin.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My score on your previous keyhole quiz was 0 but I really enjoyed this quiz!
    Some were easy, I own the 2 Fontana books for a start but those last few were really difficult. Enjoyed the research. A few of them could be one of several titles. So happy when I finally found #5!
    That Third Girl cover would put me off. Fontana covers were definitely my favourites, probably Dell my least favourite.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.