Book of the Month: October 2017

I didn’t feel like I had as much time to read this month, yet somehow still managed to read 15 mystery novels. Not bad. Some of these reads took me back to familiar authors such as The Dutch Shoe Mystery (1931) by Ellery Queen, Still Waters (1949) by E. C. R. Lorac, They Came to Baghdad (1951) by Agatha Christie and The Case of the Late Pig (1937) by Margery Allingham. Other reads allowed me to try new authors such as George Sims, R. C. Ashby, Bruce Hamilton, George Harmon Coxe, A. E. W. Mason and Louis Tracy.

This month was also quite an exciting month as I managed to complete the Gold Vintage Scavenger Hunt Challenge set by Bev Hankins at My Reader’s Block and I also launched a new venture: Coffee and Crime; a must have Christmas gift for any vintage mystery lover (if I say so myself!).

But who won the much coveted Book of the Month title? In the end I went for one author, but two novels, as I really loved both Anthony Gilbert’s The Spinster’s Secret (1946) and Portrait of a Murderer (1933). The psychological depth and genre innovations and style were superb and they both made gripping and engaging reads, which I heartily recommend to everyone.
I’m still going with Bev’s other challenge: Follow the Clues and I am now up to 141 links in my chain:
I’m looking forward to November, firstly because of my birthday, but also because of all the reads I have coming, including two new titles by the British Library and the latest Boris Akunin novel to be translated in the Erast Fandorin series. Yay!

About armchairreviewer

Qualified English teacher, with a passion for literature and crime fiction. On a random note I also own pygmy goats and chickens with afros (it doesn't get any cooler than that).
This entry was posted in Book of the Month and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book of the Month: October 2017

  1. Brad says:

    I do have to try Gilbert one of these days! Oh, Time, thou art so fleeting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Two very good books! And so impressed with your links, amazing chain…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

