Trial By Fury (1941) by Craig Rice

It has been some time since I last read one of Rice’s novels, so I was glad to get around to reading this one. Jake and Helene Justus are married, at long last, and are taking it easy in Jackson, Wisconsin. However, the trivial task of going to get a fishing license at the local courthouse soon disrupts the peaceful holiday they envisaged. Whilst taking a tour around the courthouse, ex-Senator Peveley is murdered. Despite the ridiculousness of it and the fact that the Justus’ have an alibi, the other inhabitants of the courthouse are quick to blame them for the fatality. It doesn’t help that Jake gets on the wrong side of the Sheriff and it is no surprise that Jake and Helene’s friend and reluctant lawyer, John J. Malone has to come out to help them. Yet this is only the beginning of their problem and the beginning of a series of murders – all committed in different ways. As the body count increases, local feelings run high and it is not long before Jake is in real danger of getting lynched. In such chaos and prejudice Malone has to work out what is really going on. There are any surface reasons for Peveley to be murdered, but as Malone discovers the truth runs much deeper.

Overall Thoughts

Having read other earlier novels in the Jake and Helene series, I found this story quite intriguing. There is still a high level of wisecracks, but other than that the humour is much lower key. There is not a screwball comedy like others have been. The only point of humour/ understatement which didn’t work well is when a series of fatalities and injuries are described after the second crime. For me this section seemed to be lacking taste. The characters themselves are also changed to a degree. Their alcohol consumption in the main is much lower, though there is an extended scene where a drunken Malone tries to track down Jake using a bloodhound. I would also say that Helene has changed a bit. Her role this time round is very much concentrated in her wardrobe and in comparison to earlier tales she is much more demure, weaker and less gung ho, which was a bit disappointing.

However there are many positives to this novel. The opening is very effective, as is the ending and the pacing is consistently good throughout. Rice also provides an engagingly complex mystery, with lots to puzzle out, especially as the crimes pile up and the clues are fairly given. The setting of rural small insular town is equally done well and adds to the story as a whole. So overall, although this was not a perfect read, this is still a story with a lot to recommend itself.

Rating: 4.25/5

The Wrong Murder (1940)

The Corpse Steps Out (1940)

Home Sweet Homicide (1944)

About armchairreviewer

Qualified English teacher, with a passion for literature and crime fiction. On a random note I also own pygmy goats and chickens with afros (it doesn't get any cooler than that).
This entry was posted in In the dock and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trial By Fury (1941) by Craig Rice

  1. JFW says:

    This review reminds me that I’ve ‘Wrong Murder’ and ‘Home Sweet Homicide’ sitting on the TBR shelf… How does the puzzle in this one compare to that of ‘Wrong Murder’ and ‘Home Sweet Homicide’? I think the only Rice novel I have on my Kindle is ‘Sunday Pigeons Murder’.

    I’ve just finished Francis Beeding’s ‘Norwich Victims’, as I was prompted by Puzzle Doctor’s review to remember your review of the novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest my memories of Wrong Murder and Home Sweet Homicide are so vague that I don’t think I could give you any accurate response. Though I do seem to have given Wrong Murder a higher rating than this one. What did you make of Norwich Victims?

      Like

      • JFW says:

        I was going to say that I don’t usually like ‘inverted mysteries’, though that’s probably not fair given that I’ve read very few of them, and I’ve certainly enjoyed very much Higashino’s novels. I think for some reason Beeding and I wouldn’t make for the best combination: I managed to spot certain key things about both ‘Death Walks at Eastrepps’ and ‘Norwich Victims’ quite early on in the novel. It might be the fact that in both cases I was wondering what those key things might be… But then again I’m often quite slow at identifying these things. I suspect it might just be the way Beeding and I get along – almost too well for me to be caught by surprise? Putting that aside, I confess I enjoyed both books, and I probably enjoyed ‘Norwich Victims’ more.

        Liked by 1 person

      • haha you’re just too clever! I was completely fooled by The Norwich Victims. But I know what you mean when you read a mystery novel and manage to guess what is going on very early on.

        Like

Leave a Reply

