No Mourning for the Matador (1953) by Delano Ames

Today’s review is another return to the work of Delano Ames, this time from his Jane and Dagobert Brown series, which I love. Given the title there are no prizes for guessing where the Browns are next. Ames gets straight to the point in his opening chapter, which is set at a bullfight in Barcelona, where Jane witnesses the death of the matador, Denis St. John. It is presumed to be an unfortunate but not unanticipated accident, as St John had been acting jittery all afternoon and was not up to his usual bull fighting standard. But Dagobert of course thinks otherwise, especially when he hears that St John’s final word was madrecita (darling mother in Spanish). A car problem leaves the Browns in Barcelona, giving Dagobert all the excuse he needs to dig into St John’s death further. The next two days are action packed for the Browns, who certainly know how to fill their time in. The case which unfolds is quite complex, not in the how, which is dealt with rather swiftly, but in the who and why. Suspects abound unsurprisingly, including St John’s money focused fiancée and soon to be father in law; St John’s own relations, who have no qualms about stealing from each other and even the Browns own friends have suspicious connections to the deceased. After a very exhausting two days, where it seems more than one person is trying to prevent the Browns from investigating, events come to a head in a bar fight, which finally resolves the remaining aspects of the case.

As one reviewer put it: ‘I am very attached to Dagobert and Jane Brown.’ You can always rely on Dagobert for some bizarre and zany logic, which nevertheless always seems to work out and I think part of me does want to go on holiday with these two, just the once. After all I feel like once would be enough, given the antics those two get up to. Ames’ time in Spain definitely comes through in his descriptions of Barcelona, especially the Ramblas, where he recreates an intensity of the senses: sights, sounds, noises and smells. No wonder it seems almost too much for Jane. You also feel like you going beyond the tourist point of view of Spain. The characterisation as always is memorable and it was particularly interesting to see how Ames depicts the ambiguous and complex attitude of the spectators at the bullfight. The choice of culprit definitely took me by surprise and I am not sure how easy it is to identify them. However, in one particular aspect of the solution there is a very glaringly obvious but also very sneaky clue, which being me I completely missed. Whilst there was much less metafictional humour in this tale, (whilst earlier works have more of this), it was still a story which brought a smile to my face and I enjoyed how Ames made you feel like you were there amongst it all. So all in all this is another entertaining read by Ames. I don’t think he has really managed to disappoint me yet.

Rating: 4/5

Vintage Mystery Scavenger Hunt Item: Performer

About armchairreviewer

Qualified English teacher, with a passion for literature and crime fiction. On a random note I also own pygmy goats and chickens with afros (it doesn't get any cooler than that).
This entry was posted in In the dock and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Mourning for the Matador (1953) by Delano Ames

  1. JFW says:

    Wow, two hefty doses of tonic in two days. 🙂 Given what’s next I suspect you will have three good strikes in a row! Do you have any thoughts as to what the differences might be between the Dagobert and Jane series, as opposed to the Juan Llorca series? I’ve read the first few entries featuring the Browns, and while I enjoyed the storytelling and the characterisation, they left me slightly wanting in terms of the puzzle.

    P.S. I went into my local second-hand bookshop, and picked up two titles by Jennifer Rowe: ‘Grim Pickings’ and ‘Lamb to the Slaughter’. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hmm good question. I think because Llorca is a policeman he has a more overt and logical investigation i.e. a crime is committed and as part of his job he has to follow it up and investigate in a police like manner. So you might like Llorca more than the Browns, as I think the different type of sleuth alters how visible the puzzle factor is. The Man with the Three Jaguars might be the best one for you to try out of the two I have read, though I do have one more from the series in my TBR pile. Hope you enjoy the Rowe books.

      Like

  2. Oh this sounds great! As another fan of Jane and Dagobert, I really need to get on with more of this series. Was this one easy to find?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

