Book of the Month: October 2016

Last month had a lot of good reads but I think there was one which definitely stole the show and it should come as no surprise that October’s book of the month was Anthony Horowitz’s Magpie Murders (2016). It has a really engaging narrative style with complex and interesting characters and Horowitz’s pastiche of golden age detective fiction is well done as are his elements of metafiction. Definitely a book I would recommend to fans of modern and golden age detective fiction.

magpie-murders

However, some very recommendable Book of Month runners up include:

Looking forward to another month of good reads and a brief look at the TBR pile indicates this month’s read will have a decidedly golden age bias, though a couple of more modern books will probably appear as well.

About armchairreviewer

Qualified English teacher, with a passion for literature and crime fiction. On a random note I also own pygmy goats and chickens with afros (it doesn't get any cooler than that).
This entry was posted in Book of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book of the Month: October 2016

  1. JJ says:

    Woooo! This is either the next, or the next-next book I’m reading. Or the one after that. Frankly, I’m so excited about it that it’s thrown me into a kind of turmoil and I have no idea what’s going on any more. Who are you? Whose clothes am I wearing? Why is everything grey at the edges…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brad says:

    Thanks to you, Kate, this is sitting on my kitchen counter! I’ll be starting it as soon as I finish this . . . (drumroll) . . . Paul Halter title I’m reading! I LOVES me some meta-fiction, so I share JJ’s childlike enthusiasm. I just wear it with more suavity and sophistic – (giggle giggle giggle giggle giggle giggle giggle giggle) -ation!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooo! Thanks for reviewing this. Big fan of Anthony Horowitz’s onscreen crime writing, and loved his interpretation of Sherlock Holmes. This sounds like a must-read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

