An Initial Look at Crime and Detective Stories Magazine Issue 72

CADS 72

It has felt like far too long since the last issue  of CADs Magazine, but like many others I am glad to receive the first issue of the year in the post today. As usual this issue contains a wide range of articles looking at old and new books, familiar and obscure authors and I am hard pressed to decide which article I want to read first, as there are so many good ones to choose from. A few in particular which caught my eye are:

  • The Man Who Wrote Fairy Tales for Adults: Selwyn Jepson by Liz Gilbey – Jepson appears to be an author from the Golden Age and one whom I have never heard of before, so I am keen to find out more about him.
  • Recent Random Reading in Japanese Crime Fiction by Nick Kimber – Conversely to the previous article, this article piqued my other interest in reading mystery fiction in translation and I hope to find a number of new reads from this piece.
  • The Myth of Detective Fiction as a Fair Play Game Part 1: Fair Play by Scott K. Ratner – As an English Literature Graduate I am usually quickly drawn to essays and articles with a more thematic approach and the issue of Fair Play is something which has cropped up a lot since I have started this blog, in my own thoughts and in discussions with others. Does it matter if the author cheats us or doesn’t play fair? Are there rule breakers which are acceptable and some which are not? The opening of this article suggests that it will look at what is actually meant by Fair Play and whether it even exists? I think Ratner has certainly set himself a challenge and I look forward to reading the rest of the article.
  • Howdunit? Locked Room Murders and Other Impossible Crimes by Tony Medawar – This piece by Medawar is adapted from the talk he gave at the British Library conference last June. This was definitely one of the highlights of the conference and I look forward to refreshing my memory of it.
  • “Poison in the Blood”: Discovering the Writer Norman Berrow by Prue Mercer – Norman Berrow is an author I have only recently read for the first time, having reviewed his novel The Bishop’s Sword. So I am keen to find out more about the author and a cursory reading of the article suggests that the author of the piece met and knew Berrow personally, so I am hopeful that they will have some different insights into Berrow and his work.
  • When Really Was the Golden Age of Detective Fiction: An Alternative Date by Pete Johnson – As someone who has always had qualms about cutting off the Golden Age period at 1939 due to the high number of excellent GA books produced in the 1940s I am always up for a different perspective on dating the Golden Age.

As you may have surmised from the picture above I too feature in this issue, having written a piece called Melodrama and the Sherlock Holme Stories: A Continuation and A Deviation, where I argue that Doyle utilises a number of features found in earlier Victorian melodramas in his own Sherlock Holmes stories. Some of these features stay the same, whilst with others I found that Doyle changes how they are used.

If you are interested in getting a copy of CADs, contact the very hard working editor, publisher and contributor Geoff Bradley at: Geoffcads@aol.com and with readers as far flung as Japan, Australia, Canada and Norway, this magazine is available to those outside of the UK, so you have no excuse not to give it a try.

Also if you have been a quicker reader than me and have already devoured all or some of this issue, share your thoughts in the comment section below.

About armchairreviewer

Qualified English teacher, with a passion for literature and crime fiction. On a random note I also own pygmy goats and chickens with afros (it doesn't get any cooler than that).
This entry was posted in Magazine Publications and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Initial Look at Crime and Detective Stories Magazine Issue 72

  1. Bev Hankins says:

    I have a Selwyn Jepson title on my long TBF (to be found) list–but other than that, I don’t know anything about him. I think I need to rectify the fact that I don’t receive CAD–right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Dark One says:

    I keep meaning to get this accursed thing, but A. spending money ew and B. I know that I’ll go for it, and end up trying to read all the back issues. XD Which, again, spending money ew. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well I would say it’s worth the money (biased I know) and since there are only 3-4 issues a year it probably isn’t so great an expenditure, in comparison to a weekly or monthly magazine. Alternatively you can get a complimentary copy of an issue if you contribute a piece to the issue in question.

      Like

      • The Dark One says:

        Hm, so noted, I’ll think about it. XD Though I shant be contributing anything, lack the intelligence/insight for it. XD

        Like

  3. JJ says:

    Catching up slowly, sorry Kate – this sounds great, impossible crimes (woo!), Norman Berrow (frankly triple woo!), fair play and yourself given top billing (now, now, don’t be coy!). When things get back to normal for me, I am absolutely going to finally check this out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

